HUBBLE GALAXY CLASSIFICATION: Ellipticals, Lenticulars and Spirals

Hubble Galaxy Classification

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2018

Hubble Galaxy Classification

There are possibly as many as 100 billion galaxies in the universe. Galaxies like the Milky Way are just large accumulation of stars.

As galaxies are rotating around some point in space likely where the Big Bang occurred, they take various structures and shape.

Based on their visual appearance, Edwin Hubble developed a classification scheme for galaxies.

These three classes of galaxies are ellipticals, lenticulars and spirals.

What is the Galaxy Classification of the Milky Way?

The Milky Way galaxy has about 200 billion stars. In a clockwise direction, the entire galaxy is rotating as a barred spiral galaxy.

Milky Way is a flattened disk with spiral arms. This disk contains dust, stars and gas rotating from a center point.

According to the Hubble Galaxy classification scheme, the Milky Way is a SBc barred spiral galaxy. This means that it’s part way between SBb and SBc

What is the Galaxy Classification of the Andromeda Galaxy?

Our nearest neighbor is the Andromeda Galaxy. The Andromeda galaxy is a spiral galaxy with a SA(s)b galaxy classification.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.